I’m back again, and have absolutely no excuses to offer about that looooong, unannounced absence. But, without much ado and for the sake of posterity, I thought I should come back and do a year round up. Here’s what my 2009 was made up of:

January: A 4 hour commute to work everyday and a horrid boss were the highlight of the month. With that stupendous a start, I should have taken a clue and taken the next 11 months off life. But no, we continued to prod along. I’d think the hazy Delhi mornings kept me going. Oh, add to that weekend trips of extremely panicky shopping for the upcoming engagement. Learnt that you can surprise yourself at how far you can go, if you keep at taking the next little step.

February: The most terrible two weeks at work, followed by the engagement.. muchos fun! 🙂 And just before the engagement, I got proposed in the whole down-on-one-knee style which blew me away. Work remained the nemesis of my life. Learnt that it’s because of work that I’ve learnt to value vacations and family-time more.

March: The much-awaited move to Bombay finally materialized! I was almost losing hope, and I was certainly losing my mind. My brother got operated on for a sports injury, which was a real scare. Learnt that life does have terrible timing, and you just have to lump it.

April: The very first month of staying absolutely alone. Strangely cathartic and mighty expensive. Met the Landlady from Hell who was one of the few people who have shocked me more than once. Learnt that staying alone is a big part of growing up. Highly recommended.

May: Met new people and made new friends. Missed home terribly, and had a HUGE fight with the landlady. House hunting in a city that doesn’t exactly welcome single people who have friends coming over, eat non vegetarian food, drink and party. Commuting from one end of the city to the other. Learnt that thinking “how bad can it get” is just tempting Fate!

June: Completed a year at my workplace. Recessionary times = proposals for bizarre projects that would get us some business, any business. Enough and more time for gossip sessions, gtalking and late night movies. The fiance’s birthday was celebrated with me, his best friend, his mom and grand-mom. Learnt that it does pay to be patient and hang on when you really don’t like your job.

July: Moved to a new house finally!! Started working on a huge-ass PSU Tender that took up all my time, energy and sanity. Red-tapism is funny only when you don’t have to deal with it. Lost my temper very very often, and not proud of it at all. Learnt that I score in negative on corporate-ness, and can’t be diplomatic in the face of utter stupidity.

August: Some more of the madness continued at work. It was sheer bliss the day the wretched
thing got submitted, never to haunt me in my sleep again.. or so I thought. More notices threatening to “reject your bid unless you submit…” and “disqualify your submission in case you don’t…” were tendered to the firm with yours truly running around helter skelter to do the needful. Oh, also joined the gym. Learnt that it never really is over.

September: The birthday month! Got thrown into another whirlwind project. Meetings, lists and excel sheets were all I saw. Oh, this was also the month of some really impulsive shopping, totally instigated by the illusion of weight loss, what with all the religious gymming. Learnt that you owe it to yourself to have something to look forward to, at the end of the day.

October: Two months to the wedding, and I was totally unprepared. Mom, dad and aunts were suitably panicked, and in fourth gear by this time. Went home, hogged on gol-gappas, made many many trips to Chandni Chowk, splurged on wedding finery, high heels and other things I’ll probably never use. Came back to hardcore mess at work. Learnt that there’s no place like home.. Bah!

November: Raced against time to get the work done before the wedding holiday began. Late nights, extreme cribbing and Excel overdose. The day before I was to go on leave brought good news at work, which made it seem like it wasn’t all that pointless after all. Was in such an auto-pilot mode that it hit me that I was finally done only when I was on that flight to Delhi. Learnt that we owe more to caffeine than we give it credit for.

December: Got married. It is awesome, scary, exciting, frightening and confusing. I have a whole post planned out for that though. Went on a much-needed honeymoon vacation to Australia and New Zealand, which was really the stuff of dreams. Came back to an awesome-r Christmas and New Year’s Eve with family. Learnt that you can always end it in style, if you couldn’t begin it so.

.. and that’s all, folks! That was my year – much learning, eh? It would have been much worse than it sounds if it were not for my mom – who’s basically a woman of steel, and the then-fiance now-husband who I like to think is like a tea bag – you don’t know how strong he is, till tested by hot water. Super cheesy, I know dude! 😀

I shall be back soon with a few posts: Being Married, A Decade Round-Up and maybe a Travelogue. Happy New Year, my 1.5 readers!! May God bless you with a splendid 2010, with lots of happy times and loved ones. While I’m at it, wish you a very Happy Lohri / Pongal / Makar Sankranti as well 🙂

7 thoughts on “

  1. @Shrutz: Thanks! And I've been checking on your blog, George. Me likey.@Ol' Swat: Yep, I did.. Thanks :)) I always thought swat would be short for, like, Swati or something 😀 Glad to find you again.@WSW: Thanks. A kickass year it sure was. It's a happy surprise to see you visit here.. i'm flattered :)@Shreya: No no.. I'm gonna stick around, I think. What've you been upto?

Leave a Reply

