Happy Weekend!

Been quite a while since I really sat down to write. Lately, everything I’ve put up here has been to let off the steam, don’t you think? Today as well, there isn’t much I have to share. Except maybe catch up with you guys here.

I’ve been spending time with my cousin and her kids all of last week. What fun it’s been! Her 7-year old is visiting India after a long time, and thinks camel rides are “fweaky” and that Indian food is “just too red” 😀 Between that and work and the flu bug and a whirlwind trip to Delhi in between, I’m pretty exhausted and looking forward to the weekend rather desperately. One thing I’m rather proud of is that I haven’t given up on the gym, because usually that’s the first ball to be dropped! Yesterday was another of those landmark (read: very close to murder) workouts, where I finished 6.25 kms on the elliptical and the treadmill put together, in under 40 mins. For me, it IS an achievement of sorts. Instead of being elated, I always second guess things and find some warped way of convincing myself that it was all a fluke. This mostly summarizes my reaction to most of my small happinesses in life, I’ve discovered. Very self-deprecatory attitude, and I’m hating this.

Oh, by the way, I watched Udaan. And though I’m still totally in awe of Inception and Nolan, I have to say Udaan is one of those movies you shouldn’t miss just because a bigger, more hyped and marketed movie is on right now.. you’ll regret it. Here’s a track I love from the movie:

Ah, right now, all I need is a very big fat mug of ginger tea, and a guilt-free chocolatey something.

What’s your news, people?

17 thoughts on “Happy Weekend!

  1. Loved the song. And little nieces and nephews are the most fun!

    Come over for some ginger chai? 😀

    My news is that I am very very happy and not angry with anyone and not cribbing. Dude that IS news 😛

    • Haha.. that is always news at my end too. Like the good husband puts it, it’s when I am NOT angry that it’s an unusual day 😀

      Oh, how I’d love to come over for ginger chai that goes perfectly with the to-die-for Blr weather 🙂

  2. I got back to yoga. I know what you mean about achievement and first ball to be dropped. Boozyy evenings and late nights notwithstanding, surynamaskars it is! (30 of them! watch me glow with pride!:)

    • 30! I tried yoga a VERY long time back, and I still remember that even 10 of those suryanamaskars was a BIG deal! WTG, girl 🙂

      Oh yeah, don’t you hate it when you have to pick up the resolve to get back to yoga/ gym after a week of shameless binges? It is a vicious cycle, it is!

  3. I just packed the husband off to a photography workshop in blr he’s been raring to attend.

    So it’s just me, with LOADS of books to read during the weekend without interruption. My long awaited ME time.

    Nieces are absolutely cute. Mine think I’m an all knowing oracle. Flatters me to no end 😀

    You have a good weekend!:-)

    • Aww, your weekend sounds perfect!

      Hehe.. mine were two nephews. You’re so right, they always believe you ought to know everything. The 7-year old is learning about capitals of countries these days, so there were more than a few instances when I was asked things like the capital of Trinidad and Tobago, and my degrees were put to question! Looks like you’re never done with school 🙂

  4. It’s great how I can be cranky and pissed and the people around me would bear that with a sense of humor that defies imagination. Men sometimes don’t get the credit they deserve 😀

  5. Kids are so much fun! Time just flies by with them 🙂
    @all the exercising – Good work girl 😀

    My weekend was awesome, got myself my baby 😛

  6. Gosh I have the exact same self deprecatory attitude you write about to the small happinesses in life too and I HATE that about myself. We also have the liking for ginger chai and guilt free chocolate (one can hope) in common 🙂
    Unlike you though I haven’t been as regular at the gym as I would like to be 😦 The motivation has gone on a loong vacay and decided to stay there. Also I haven’t seen a movie at a theatre in ages. I’m so desperate I just might go and watch Aisha this weekend.

    • DO NOT watch Aisha.. that’ll be 3 hours of your life you’ll never get back. And lady, if I had a li’l toddler to run behind everyday, I’m not quite sure I would have made to the gym even once.. so fret not, you’ll find your groove soon 🙂

      And isn’t ginger chai the most relaxing beverage in the world? Right next to an LIIT, I’d say!

  7. Loved the song.. All of you just made me realize I have seen one move this year.. ONE.. 😐 where do I go and kill myself..

    Gym is the same story.. I really should take another look at my life 😐

Leave a Reply

