Be Blunt?

So that NaBloPoMo lasted exactly three days.. shortest month ever? 😀 But well, in my defence (which I don’t think I need to offer considering nobody asked), that tends to happen when your weekend has been busier than the week. For perspective, do know it includes one husband down with the sniffles, one person determined to spring clean like she’s on acid, and hosting 9 people for dinner at home. 

Well well, now that I have some time to myself – it being a workday and all – there’s something that’s on my mind today that I need to share.

 One thing I can never pride myself on is my temper or my control over it. I’m told I was a quiet, calm child but evolved into this monster ready to bite people’s heads off some time around teenage. And may I add I can’t quite counter that fact convincingly, for it is 100% true. But the eerie part is this: of late, I just don’t get angry. I get disappointed. You know what I mean? Running out of steam and letting the shit pile up.. letting go.. and feeling like not bothering. Sometimes, it seems like the nicer, grown-up thing to do.. at others, it’s like sitting on a bomb where you’re waiting for things to get unbearable enough. Why is this happening? I have a theory that being verbally angry takes the negativity out of your system, and actually clears the air. Agreed, it hurts people at the time but there are no repressed feelings. This, on the other hand, is like living with the negativity inside you, taking roots. Is it because I’m fed up? Is it because some people are too close to me to be fought with? Or is it that I know they won’t take it well anyway?

In other news, I am down with the sniffles now and simply hoping that it isn’t anything worse than just the common flu. Too lazy and tied up to see the doc. This is my personal version of living dangerously, it seems. 😀

I wish I had more ideas to write about, but I don’t. I’m in some sort of a funk, and I hate making an effort to blog in fact. I hate to come up with things to write – I expect things to come up so I can write about them. Now I totally understand why they have so many “farmaaish” programs on radio: no RJ wants to take the overwhelming task of coming up with music everyone will like every night, so might as well let the listeners choose! I wish blogging worked on a request basis as well 😀

Oh, I did want to boast that I made awesome butter chicken and biryani on Sunday, even if I say so myself. Unfortunately, there aren’t any pictures..  but I will take them the next time over. 🙂

What’s your news, peeps?

14 thoughts on “Be Blunt?

  1. I knew it! i should have met u earlier and then been part of this chicken & biryani gang…or at least the left overs!

    Get well soon…sniffles are the worst…u aint even ill enough to take a holiday

  2. My news is that right now I envy you – I wish I could get away with repressed anger. But no sir, I scream my lungs out, bang doors, and in the wild years of teenage, even broke things. And once I am done, I get disappointed. Full tantrum. All the bloody time! Chah! I think that is the only juvenile bit that has stayed on. Otherwise I feel all grown up 😛

  3. I wish you would’ve continued the NaBloPoMo. You are a really good read 🙂

    9 people dinner AND cleaning- wow. I used to be one who could keep anger inside. Not get it out, and now, I just can’t keep my anger within me. It HAS to come out. And I like it better, I am sure people around me would disagree 😛

    I keep suffering from lack of enthu and ideas all the time too. Ditto on the farmaaish

    • Thankee.. and I do want to do the NaBloPoMo, but I’ll do it some other time. With no ideas, being sick and knowing that there are hectic weeks coming up – right now is not the best timing 😦

      And about the anger thing, I could use some of your fire!

  4. Why do I, for mysterious reasons, think that you have almost agreed to what I have been screaming hoarse about?! I have awwways been the kind who is by herself most of the times, but only gets rather annoyed with people who step on her toes for nothing. Then she lets loose and gives the concerned a chunk of her mind. Then she goes back to her dreamworld. Now, because of all the gyaan I’ve been getting on how I’m supposed to be careful with my temper, I’ve begun to bottle up the steam. Which kills me!

    Anyway, great blog there! I’m coming back for more!

    • I believe that one of the tragedies of our race is that hot-tempered people are advised to stay shut. I think anger can do a lot more than it’s credited for. And also that some people are just not cut out for calmness.. it’s not necessarily a good thing to be so passive anyway!

      And did I say I love your blog.. it’s an amazing find.. adding you to my Reader feeds 🙂

  5. I believe that one of the tragedies of our race is that hot-tempered people are advised to stay shut. I think anger can do a lot more than it’s credited for. And also that some people are just not cut out for calmness.. it’s not necessarily a good thing to be so passive anyway!

    And did I say I love your blog.. it’s an amazing find.. adding you to my Reader feeds 🙂

Leave a Reply

