Happy Birthday to My Over-The-Hill Self

You know how they say stuff about learning to age gracefully and all? That’s for other people.. I’m simply too shocked for grace.

I’m ready to burst into Meena Kumari inspired slow painful songs.

Ready to commit harakiri.

In case you’re interested in how old I’ve turned, here’s a little riddle: The number is a perfect cube. That number.. the left side of which was the pleasant early 20s and singledom and carefreeness and life. And the right of which are, let’s see, : 1. Double the age when I had my first very serious crush 2. Double the age when I got done with Class X boards 3. The big frickin’ three-O. What is beyond that sends shivers down my spine, so we’ll stop here.

*Phew, I should take a long, deep breath and chant Aal Iz Well*

I’m sure people who’re 30 or about to be 30 or even *gasp* 31 and beyond will feel like slapping me right now. I mean, what the hell is the big deal? I’m still in my twenties. Youth may have passed me by, but I am in the early stages of adulthood. Similarly, people who’re 21 or 22 or 23 will be sniggering and thinking of me as some not-so-slim, not-so-cool, not-so-young moron who writes in full words and sentences and doesn’t know that IDK means ‘I don’t know’. But it’s the people who’re 24 or 25 or 26 I’m talking to here. Guys, you should hold on to those years a bit more, and enjoy them a bit more.. because before you know it, life will catch up and you’ll find yourself in 27. The age you think about eating healthy and working out. The age you cannot make random, impromptu road trips if you don’t like to get fired from your jobΒ just as randomly. The age you can’t joke about farting or burping. The age Kurt Cobain chose to off himself, for godssake! In fact, check this out >> this.

But you know how they also say that the best tunes are played on the oldest fiddles? I’m gonna go with that (little choice and all that). So, now might be a good time to take stock of the last year or so and raise a toast to the 27th and see what the years beyond can bring, right? So, ladies and gentlemen, here’s my sundry list of accomplishments:

I have fallen in love. And married someone I adore, someone I can fight with with little sense of propriety or political correctness, and come out undivorced. Most importantly, someone who can do the same with me and escape unscathed.

I have given my all to a job that’s thankless and that I dislike. It’s been a life experience that will help me choose sensibly, I believe. You can always learn what not to do, even if you cannot necessarily know what to do.

I have found a way to be less angry with things and people and situations.

I know a thing or two about financial planning and tax planning now. Which means I won’t be on the defaulter list anytime soon, neither will I be emptying store shelves in a feverish urge to buy.

I understand and try my best with my responsibilities. Yet I have shed the pressing need to please everyone.

I can cook edible fare.

I’m house proud and I have OCD. I’ve made my peace with them; in fact, I like it like this.

I have made very few but great friends. I think I could not have done better in quality or in number.

I appreciate the small things – the unmatterables is what I call them – a lot more. I’d hate to be 60 and rue not having stopped to smell the roses. For one, it’ll be preposterous if you lead a laidback life at 30 and still claim to have had no time when you’re 60. For two, it’ll be such a cliched tragedy.

I’m learning a new language. It’s been on the list for so long.

I started working out, and have stuck with it for almost a year. This is one of the most important things in my mind. Which probably says a lot about how boring my life is.

On the wishlist are:

Read more. Travel more. Eat better. Write more. Learn more. Change jobs. God, religion, faith, humanity, universe, karma, destiny – make up my mind. Be more detached. Always remember to ask “What’s the worse that could happen?” Be less feminist, be more human. Spend time doing something worthwhile. Feel less guilt. Keep working out. Learn to move on from bitter situations and bad decisions. Stop trying to put off tough decisions. Have kids one day, and save some experiences to have the first time with them. Judge less. Apologize with a little more heart. Be patient, but not complacent. Take a little more risk. Worry less. Expect lesser, deserve more. Make more money. Save more money. Make the world a better place in some way.

So you see, we’re not nearly done. I’ll need to start on my list right away. Because like Charles Schulz once said

Once you’re over the hill, you begin to pick up speed.

Fun fact: I share my birthday with Agatha Christie. I think that’s pretty cool.

Here’s to the 27th *clink*

60 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to My Over-The-Hill Self

  1. A very happy birthday to you girl!
    The birthday list is precious but your lessons learned and accomplishments, far more impressive!

    Wishing u a great year(& life) ahead!

    Cheers!

  2. Happy Birthday to u, Happy Birthday to u…if u hear some melody (?!!!) drifting into ur window…it’s me…

    On an aside note…love the post…and i am gonna copy sorry remake it when i turn…gulp gulp 29!!! Sighhhh..

    27….Baaah!

    • Hehe. You know, this last weekend, I did some people watching and kept thinking “Hmmm maybe this is Nuttie.. Oh no, that one seems more like her.” We should really meet before I go crazy.

      You’re welcome to copy/ remake/ remix it. Between friends πŸ™‚

  3. Happy Birrthday πŸ™‚
    I turned 22 this year. And somehow I don’t like the ‘sound’ of it. May seem weird. But yeah πŸ™‚ I like the sound of 21.
    And 27.
    Am waiting to hop on to 27 πŸ˜€ It feels like a “secure and responsible” place to be in πŸ˜›

    • Sweetie, EVERYONE loves the sound of 21 πŸ˜€

      ‘Secure and responsible 27’.. yes that’s who I am. Next year, I’ll be ‘Dependable and mature 28’. Which building should I jump off now? Hmm…

      Anyway, aren’t you too youthful to be hanging out in this old people’s blog? Run along now.

  4. Shut up already, woman! I turned 29 a couple of weeks ago. 27 looks bloody hawt from where I stand! I love the loooooong list of to-dos. We really are kindred souls. Good luck on all of them! Happy 27th!! πŸ™‚

  5. 27th was my hottest year, so consider yourself your best just right now. This year I turn 31. And you know what? For all the freaking out about three and a zero, being on this side isn’t any different from being on the other side. Except maybe the tyres. Which you’re doing well by avoiding ;).

    So, forget about being over the hill – think about it as finally getting over the baby years, and into those years of maturity that makes women those mysterious, sexy characters that they are ;). 27 rocks. Happy Birthday!!

  6. Many happy returns of the day, hope you had a good one!!

    And yes am going to be 2.7. this year as well without half of the been there done that available on your list πŸ™‚

  7. Haha. Good post. I wonder why we fret about age so much. Do men do it too? I am myself so psyched about being 28. In my mind, I am this old, doddering, saliva-dripping lady with week knees πŸ˜€

    • Thank yoy.. and you always give me hope πŸ˜€

      What eating healthy? The husband’s been travelling since my birthday, and I finished the whole cake over 3 days. In the name of revenge and depression and all that. The little vodka it had helped me cope with my life.

  8. Happy Birthday! Hope you have a fab year ahead, and enjoy those wonderful years in front of you- the 28s and the 29s are pretty fab too. And now, since I fall into the big three-oh bracket, I shall just move away slowly and painfully with gnashed teeth *sob*

  9. Pingback: With mirth and laughter let old wrinkles come « Another Dark Comedy

Leave a Reply

