You’re not crazy

While my travel tales and the pictures will take some time getting downloaded, I have something to share with you all.

I often wonder a lot about the subtler aspects of gender inequality, not just because as a privileged member of the woman community (because I was allowed to be born, educated and chose my partner and yes, in some countries like ours, this is privilege!!) the subtler aspects are the ones witnessed more by me.. but also because of how little anything is written about these, so much so that many women feel like they’re “making a mountain of a molehill” if they ever think something is being done to them.

I can safely say that I haven’t met a single woman who doesn’t have to “keep her opinion to herself” in atleast one setting – at her home, her workplace or her friend circle, for the fear of being thought of as someone who’s either “always overreacting” or “too aggressive” or as it is often said in jest, “just crazy!”

Here’s to those women. Please read this. Would implore those men who are prepared not to trash it as “hormones”, to read too. (I discovered this article through Unmana’s blog, and found it worth sharing with everybody):

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/yashar-hedayat/a-message-to-women-from-a_1_b_958859.html

6 thoughts on “You’re not crazy

  1. A friend sent it to me too and (I don’t know why I didn’t share it then!) it had such a profound effect on me that I was busy thinking back on all those occasions I could remember where the term ‘gaslighting’ fit ! And fit they did. Like a glove!

    Never knew of the term until I read the article.

    • I didn’t know the term either. But I have seen this so often, specially with women in my mother’s age group, that it makes for a very powerful issue to raise in our socio-economic bracket.

  2. This is awesome and true. There is a lot said, written and done on the big-stuff like bride-burning and female abortion, but this is really really below the surface, embroidered in our social fabric; and worst of all, women internalize it.

    • That is so true, Shreya. It takes subtle messages, social conditioning and reinforcements of this kind of behaviour from one or more sources to damage someone’s self-confidence forever. We see this around us everyday. Glad you thought this was important enough to share on FB 🙂

  3. Oh I loved this article and it made me think quite a lot. SnippetsNScribbles emailed it to me and I promptly forward it to a few of my girl pals. I think I should have sent it to the guys as well.

    • Great you shared this. I think this particular behavioral pattern is much more pronounced in the Indian society, because strangely, even the girls’ own parents/ friends are quick to tell her that she’s the one over-reacting. I find it damn annoying when some girls get a serious cold shoulder from her in-laws and all the guy gets from the same girl’s parents is “aur khao, beta!” Makes many girls feel unsupported, their husbands unaffected and unchallenged and the in-laws relentless as usual. Sad!

      Send it to the guys, if you think they’ll try and see the point.

Leave a Reply

