“Real”ity lies in the eyes of the beholder

Just how many times have I heard that fat women are “real women”. This time, it’s Adele. I love Adele. By god, I’ve been looping “Rolling in the Deep” for a few weeks now, and I’m yet to not get goosebumps. But she’s a singer, and well, that has nothing to do with body image. Clearly, she is not the fittest person to idolize when it comes to that.

None of us are perfect, but it doesn’t hurt to make the effort to try and be how we should be. Why let one unfit celebrity come along and mess with that? I even have a feeling that some women like Adele more because she’s a fat achiever than because she’s an achiever in her field. In twitterspeak, I will have to say – LOLWUT?

It bothers me even more when even the opposite holds true, i.e. in the eyes of most women, thin women are unreal women! Yes, because it’s just so easy to dismiss their hard work as “must have gone under the knife” or “must have given herself an eating disorder by now”. If that isn’t sour grapes, I don’t know what is.

If there’s anything you don’t want to do, you have to own up to your reasons and accept it like that. How the hell does it help to glorify what is less than perfect to feel good about yourself?

Here’s what Gwyneth Paltrow (who btw, has always spoken strongly against shaming fat people, has always supported the healthy way to get fit BUT ALSO has been open about the surgeries she did have) said:

The reason I can be 38 and have two kids and wear a bikini is because I work my fucking ass off. It’s not an accident. It’s not luck, it’s not fairy dust, it’s not good genes. It’s killing myself for an hour and a half five days a week, but what I get out of it is relative to what I put into it. That’s what I try to do in all areas of my life.

Now that’s what is inspiring. To me.

Here’s something to go with my mood, because I’m tripping on this lately:

Leave a Reply

